Reviews

The Haldi promises to bring a new concept in Asian food to the district.  You’ll find the restaurant at the boundary of Pitstone and Ivinghoe.  As far as cuisine is concerned, it spans the boundary between traditional and innovative.

The Haldi offers an interesting selection of dishes and we strongly recommend its Bangladeshi fish specials.


There’s plenty of parking and the welcome was warm & inviting.  The starters came quickly and we were particularly impressed by the Haldi Spiced King Prawns and Mussels infused in a creamy butter and garlic with a hint of white wine. Delicious!For main, the Murgh Jalfrezi generated a good level of ‘Haldi heat’ but it wasn’t overpowering, accompanied by perfect special rice.  A real show-stopper was the Bengali Hilsa Kufta boneless fish special.  It was a really pleaseant, well-balanced dish beautifully presented, very much complementing the Rioja.
The Haldi’s well stocked bar offers an extensive wine range travelling through Argentina, France and Chile, backed up by some impressive champagnes.Delightful indian puddings rounded off an evening of great food, hospitality and impressive service headed by the owner Shelim and his hard-working team.

Thanks guys, we’ll be back soon.

Robert Todd,   eating out hp23, resident & visitor guide, October 2012

 

37 Responses to Reviews

  1. Gary E, 3 Dec 2012 says:

    Really loved our evening at the Haldi. The food is out of this world. The staff are very warm and welcoming, I really recommend this restaurant to everyone. 5 stars from me!!!

  2. Will H, 9 Dec 2012 says:

    It was really really really really brilliant. I love curry every time I’ve been its been a delight no doubt I will be back. (try the floating coffee its great

  3. Jo & Andrea M, 11 Dec 2012 says:

    I have now been to the Haldi on two occasions with my family. The food is really excellent and probably the best I have had in the Tring / Berkhamsted area. The welcome is very warm and the service excellent and personal. Definitely recommended.

  4. Jacob, 14 Dec 2012 says:

    I have been here three times now and i plan to go many times more. The food is delicious and the service is great. If you like spice i recomend the murgh green masala. I lurved it. My grandparents live in cornwall and they love it too they come down for one with us 2. Brilliant!!!

  5. Lauren B, 14 Dec 2012 says:

    It is an excellent restaurant with a lovely welcome and very caring staff. Not to mention the delicious food on offer. I can’t wait to go again!!!!!!!

  6. Michelle, 15 Dec, 2012 says:

    Have been twice now. Once in the evening and once for lunch. The food doesn’t disappoint. Staff welcoming and helpful, have booked to go back already. 5 stars from me.

  7. Colin N, Dec 23 2012 says:

    Ate in for my son’s 8th birthday and they made a huge effort to make him the centre of attention and gave him a fabulous evening, including Ice Cream Birthday cake.
    Have subsequently had 2 take outs.
    Cannot fault the food.
    The welcome is always warm and friendly. Just what you want in a restaurant.
    Highly recommended.

  8. Ashley J, Jan 19, 2013 says:

    WOW! the best curry ive had in my life! deffinatly recomended! only if it was more local to my area(London) top notch! 5***** star from me great customer service looking forward seeing you guys soon!

  9. Angie, Feb 4, 2013 says:

    Love this place, short walk from home so we have been lots with many friends who all agree the food is fab, the owner and staff are great can’t recommend highly enough.

  10. Steve M, Feb 6 2013 says:

    Great food and friendly service. Child friendly too. Have been 5 or 6 times now and also had take aways. Reccommended.

  11. ashly, Apr 7 2013 says:

    The food was fantastic its a lovely to have some thing like this in the village really appreciate every thing thank you! Ill be definatly coming back and definatly recommended l!

  12. I’ve been there on a few occasions and I have to say the food just gets better and better and the staff are so friendly and accommodating. I would recommend The Haldi to anyone that wants a good environment that you can converse in, the service attentive and the food superb.

  13. Robert T, 20 Jun 2013 says:

    I just love the Haldi!!! a friendly warm, welcoming, atmosphere awaits you every time you visit! superb food ! They even stock Tring beers along side the cobra!! You wont forget the Haldi experience, it wont be long before you are back for more!!!!

  14. Emma C, 2 Oct 2013 says:

    Went in last week and had a fantastic meal, best indian food ive ever had, the Haldi restaurant are a real credit to the village, the food, the atmosphere, the mood couldn’t recommend any thing better. Thank you for such a great evening!

  15. Cindy L, Oct 10 2013 says:

    Thank you for a great night for your year Anniversary as usual great food with every attention to detail wishing you luck for the future & many more nights off great food 🙂 love Cindy & Mal XX

  16. Jackie Dec 28, 2013 says:

    This is by far the best Indian (Bangladeshi) restaurant in the area. The food is wonderful The service is good. We can’t stop coming back for more.

  17. Martin B, 11 Jan 2014 says:

    My party of 15 had a super night. Although ultra-busy, the staff were attentive and the food excellent!

  18. Donna, 27 Feb 2014 says:

    Had a take away from here tonight delivered with a smile 1st class food this will definitely be my regular thank you Donna in Tring x

  19. Amit, 19 Mar 2014 says:

    great place to eat and food is excellent, fantastic service. defo recommend this place always. Well DONE haldi team.

  20. boyband, 26 Mar 2014 says:

    Great food and brilliant service highly recommend

  21. deb 15 Jun, 2014 says:

    Very nice. Staff friendly, attentive and food excellent.

  22. John D, Aug 14, 2014 says:

    Excellent atmosphere,service and food,what more could anyone want!
    To all members of staff,thank you for a very enjoyable experience.

  23. carls, 30 Aug, 2014 says:

    Best Indian in the area! Staff are lovely too!!!

  24. Mr and Mrs Hester, 3 Sept, 2014 says:

    Fantastic! We really love Haldi. The food is one of the best around, with fantastic service, and it is very clean and smart inside. If you love curry, then you should definitely visit Haldi, you won’t be dissapointed.

  25. Kelly P, 2 Nov, 2014 says:

    My family and I have eaten in on a couple of occasions and had numerous take-aways and I must say each and every time the food has been amazing and the service outstanding. I highly recommend the Haldi, fantastic!

  26. Joolsie, 21 Dec, 2014 says:

    Just returned from a fabulous pre Christmas Sunday lunch at Haldi. What a treat! A great welcome as always and the food was superb. We are very lucky to have this restaurant practically on our doorstep.

  27. RICHARD, Dec 24, 2014 says:

    I have used the Haldi as a take-away since it opened. The food has always been first class. Tonight I had my first sit-down meal in the restaurant with my son. It is by far the best Indian restaurant I have eaten in (and I have eaten in many). The quality of the food was superb together with an efficient and friendly service. Thank you.

  28. Neil says:

    Having been to most of the indian restaurants in and around Tring we thought we would try the Haldi as it had been recommended and the reviews looked favourable. We went with two other friends on Saturday night. The surroundings looked really good and the staff friendly and attentive.
    I ordered the chicken Suka as a starter and I must say it was very good, the chicken was plentiful and not dry but nice and moist and the sauce very different, good start.

    I ordered the Murg Korai as my as my main course with mushroom bhajee side dish, well this is where the disappointment settled in! The meal was cold and tasteless, no actual heat at all and no spice heat whatsoever (it shows a two spices heat on the menu). The chicken was very dry (overcooked) and the mushrooms tasted of nothing, really bland, i was shocked at I was expecting a fantastic eating experience. Lastly the beer to me tasted watered down!!

    This is the first review I have ever written on a restaurant and feel the £66.00 we paid for two meals expensive.

    Saying all this we will try it again and maybe have the starter as a main course.

  29. Nikki Kalis says:

    Great service, great atmosphere, great food!

  30. Trevor Smith says:

    Went for a meal this last week, my wife and I on our anniversary. This was our first visit there. It will certainly not be the last. The food was excellent, as was the service. I would recommend it wholeheartedly to any lover of good Indian food.

  31. Pauline and Laurie Lindars says:

    Brilliant food as usual, I can honestly say that all the times we have been coming we have never had a bad meal. Saying that we are going again tonight

  32. Dan hazelden says:

    First takeaway here and fantastic.

  33. Denis B says:

    I’ve tried all the other Indian restaurants for miles around and this beats them all hands down!
    Moni Chingri Puri followed by Murgh Green Masala every time can’t get enough of it. Been coming here since just after it opened, we used to go all the way to High Wycombe for this quality food and service, now go no further, Pitstone the centre of Gastronomic excellance!!!!!!

    I travel all over England and always take opportunities to eat at Indian Restaurants when away from home so believe me when I say the Haldi is up there at the top of the list. Also the guys are all great, very polite, helpfull and a pleasure to chat to.
    Thanks guys for some truly memorable meals.

  34. Wendy Farrington says:

    A lovely family restaurant, with excellent food and service.

  35. Pat Allison says:

    Lovely atmosphere, food and service excellent. Good value for money, highly recommended!

  36. So very impressed The Haldi. I was introduced to the restaurant via friends from Pitstone. A warm welcome with an ambience to match. The service was smooth and professional and the menu offered something different from the norm. The food was superb and i will savour the evening for some time and will delighted to recommend and return soon. Thanks for a great evening.

  37. Sophie Mcgough says:

    We had a delicious meal last night at Haldi. Service as always was fabulous, great atmosphere and while it was a full and busy night we were brilliantly looked after. We tried the Hariyali chicken for the first time, which was yummy.
    Looking forward to coming back soon. We’re so lucky to have such a great resteraunt in our village.
    Sophie 21/05/17

Please let us know what you thought....